Motorcycle Insurance Providers in South Portland, ME
South Portland, ME Motorcycle Insurance
Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Requirements in South Portland
- Minimum Liability Limits in South Portland, ME: 50/100/25 
- 50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for one individual injured in an accident
- 100 Required coverage up to $100,000 for all persons injured in an accident
- 25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for property damage in an accident
- Note: In addition, policyholders must also carry at least $2,000 for medical payments.
- Insurer Verification of Insurance in South Portland 
- Insurer must verify financial responsibility or insurance after an accident or arrest.
South Portland Motorcycle Insurance Liability Requirements
Mandatory motorcycle insurance coverage for riders in the state of South Portland, ME.
- Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in South Portland 
- Bodily injury liability coverage
- Property damage liability coverage
- Uninsured motorist coverage
- Underinsured motorist coverage
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in South Portland
- Motorcycle helmets required for 17 and younger. 
Motorcycle Insurance Laws & Regulations in South Portland, ME
Motorcycle License Regulations in South Portland, ME 
Detailed information about South Portland laws and regulations regarding obtaining and maintaining a motorcycle license in the state.
- Motorcycle License Laws in South Portland
- Operation of a motorcycle, motor-drive cycle, or moped requires a special endorsement on a license.
- A person must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a motorcycle instruction permit.
- An instruction permit applicant must pass a vision test and a knowledge test related specifically to the safe operation of a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped. An applicant must complete a motorcycle driver education program.
- An instruction permit holder may operate a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped must wear a helmet. The permit does not allow the holder to carry a passenger or ride out of state.
Motorcycle Equipment Laws in South Portland, ME 
Various regulations and laws in South Portland regarding riders and passengers of motorcycles, as well as the equipment used on bikes.
- Motorcycle Equipment Laws in South Portland
- Protective headgear is required for all riders under 18 and passengers of operators under 18, and operators with a learner's permit or within 1 year of successfully completing a driving test.
- Eye protection is not required for riders in Maine.
- Passenger footrest required if carrying a passenger.
- Handlebars of a motorcycle may not be higher than shoulder level of the driver.
- A motorcycle must have a mirror mounted and adjusted to allow the driver a clear, reflected view of the highway in the rear for a distance of at least 200 feet.
Rider & Driver Facts in South Portland, ME
South Portland Accident Reporting Regulations
- Accident Reporting in South Portland 
- Crashes are required to be immediately reported in cases of death or injury.
- Crashes are required to be immediately reported when property damage exceeds $1000.
South Portland Highway Facts
- Speed Limits in South Portland 
- Rural interstates: 75 mph
- Urban interstates: 75 mph
- Other roads: 60 mph
- Consumption of Motor Fuel in ME 
- Maine ranked 40th in the U.S. in 2011 in total motor fuel consumption.
South Portland Motorcycle Registrations
- Registered Riders in ME 
- In 2012, Maine totaled 53,268 motorcycles registrations.
- This number ranks 41st in the United States by state (including Washington, D.C.).
- Note: ME ranked 42nd in the nation in total auto registrations (all vehicle types) in 2011.
Additional information about Maine
About South Portland
The city of South Portland (Maine) has an approximate population of 25,002 and is located in Cumberland County. 
South Portland, ME Motorcycle Insurance
To learn more about about Motorcycle Insurance in South Portland, or for additional resources related to South Portland Motorcycle Insurance, visit the Maine Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Currently, laws requiring only some motorcyclists to wear a helmet are in place in 28 states.
1. ^ Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA)
2. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
3. ^ AAA Digest of Motor Laws and/or Maine DOT
4. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
5. ^ Federal Highway Administration
6. ^ United States Census Bureau (2010)