Motorcycle Insurance Providers in Oregon
OR Motorcycle Insurance in Oregon
Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Requirements in Oregon
- Minimum Liability Limits in OR: 25/50/20 
- 25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
- 50 Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
- 20 Required coverage up to $20,000 for property damage in an accident
- Insurer Verification of Insurance in OR 
- Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal.
- Insurer must verify randomly selected insurance policies upon request.
Oregon Motorcycle Insurance Liability Requirements
Mandatory motorcycle insurance coverage for riders in the state of Oregon.
- Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in OR 
- Bodily injury liability coverage
- Property damage liability coverage
- Uninsured motorist coverage
- Underinsured motorist coverage
- Personal injury protection coverage
- Note: Underinsured motorist coverage is mandatory when uninsured motorist liability limit is greater than the required financial responsibility.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Oregon
- Motorcycle helmets required for all riders. 
Motorcycle Insurance Laws & Regulations in Oregon
Motorcycle License Regulations in Oregon 
Detailed information about Oregon laws and regulations regarding obtaining and maintaining a motorcycle license in the state.
- Motorcycle License Laws in OR
- A motorcycle endorsement may be issued to the holder of a valid license provided any tests and demonstrations are successfully completed.
- Completion of an approved motorcycle rider education course is required to obtain an unrestricted motorcycle endorsement. Courses for 3-wheel motorcycles are not available, and persons wishing to operate only 3-wheel motorcycles must pass a drive test at DMV to obtain an endorsement limited to 3-wheel motorcycle operation.
- A motorcycle instruction permit may be issued only to persons who are at least 16 years old and is valid for 1 year. The holder of a motorcycle instruction permit may only operate a motorcycle during daylight hours, must be accompanied by a motorcycle-endorsed rider on a separate motorcycle who is at least 21 years of age, may not carry any passengers, and must wear an approved helmet.
Motorcycle Equipment Laws in Oregon 
Various regulations and laws in Oregon regarding riders and passengers of motorcycles, as well as the equipment used on bikes.
- Motorcycle Equipment Laws in OR
- The operator of a motorcycle, and all passengers on a motorcycle, must wear an approved safety helmet.
- Eye protection is not required for riders in Oregon.
- It is unlawful to carry a passenger on a motorcycle unless the motorcycle is equipped with footrests for the passenger, and the passenger is seated on a permanent and regular seat.
- Motorcycles and mopeds must be equipped with at least 1 and no more than 3 headlights, 1 tail light, 1 brake light, a registration plate light, turn signal lights, and rear reflectors.
- At all times that a motorcycle is operated on a highway, it must display a lighted headlight(s).
Rider & Driver Facts in Oregon
Oregon Motorcycle Registrations
- Registered Riders in OR 
- In 2012, Oregon totaled 86,123 motorcycles registrations.
- This number ranks 29th in the United States by state (including Washington, D.C.).
- Note: OR ranked 29th in the nation in total auto registrations (all vehicle types) in 2011.
Oregon Highway Facts
- Speed Limits in OR 
- Rural interstates: 65 mph (Trucks: 55 mph)
- Urban interstates: 55 mph
- Other roads: 55 mph
- Consumption of Motor Fuel in OR 
- Oregon ranked 31st in the U.S. in 2011 in total motor fuel consumption.
Oregon Accident Reporting Regulations
- Accident Reporting in OR 
- Crashes are required to be reported in cases of death, injury, or when property damage exceeds $1500.
- The deadline to file a report is 72 hours.
Age Breakdown in Oregon
Approximately 76% residents in OR are 20 and older, while 19% are between ages 5 and 19, and 5% are under the age of 5. 
Household Income: Oregon vs. U.S.
The median household income in the state of Oregon is $53,395, which is about 8 percent less than the median income for the United States overall of $58,283. 
Income Breakdown in Oregon
About 16% of households in OR have incomes below the poverty level. Below is the complete income breakdown for the state. 
Additional information about Oregon
Oregon as a whole has an approximate population of 3,831,074, which ranks 28th in the nation. 
OR Motorcycle Insurance
To learn more about Motorcycle Insurance in Oregon, or for additional resources related to Oregon Motorcycle Insurance, visit the Oregon Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Currently, there is no motorcycle helmet use law in two states (Illinois and Iowa).
1. ^ Federal Highway Administration
2. ^ Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA)
3. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
4. ^ AAA Digest of Motor Laws and/or Oregon DOT
5. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
6. ^ United States Census Bureau (2010)