Motorcycle Insurance LocalMotorcycle Insurance Local
Comprehensive Local Motorcycle Insurance Guide

Vermont Motorcycle Insurance

Motorcycle Registrations in VT

^ There are 30,691 registered motorcycles in Vermont, the 49th highest number in the nation. [1]

Motorcycle Insurance in VT by City

Select a city for local information:

Go

Compare Motorcycle Insurance in VT

^ Click here to compare Vermont Motorcycle Insurance options. Get instant quotes in just minutes.

Motorcycle Insurance Providers in Vermont

VT Motorcycle Insurance

VT Motorcycle Insurance in Vermont

Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Requirements in Vermont


  • Minimum Liability Limits in VT: 25/50/10 [2]
    • 25  Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
    • 50  Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
    • 10  Required coverage up to $10,000 for property damage in an accident

  • Insurer Verification of Insurance in VT [2]
    • Insurer must verify randomly selected insurance policies upon request.

Vermont Motorcycle Insurance Liability Requirements

Required Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Vermont

Mandatory motorcycle insurance coverage for riders in the state of Vermont.

  • Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in VT [2]
    • Bodily injury liability coverage
    • Property damage liability coverage
    • Uninsured motorist coverage
    • Underinsured motorist coverage

Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Vermont

    • Motorcycle helmets required for all riders. [3]

Motorcycle Insurance Laws & Regulations in Vermont

Motorcycle License Regulations in Vermont [4]

Detailed information about Vermont laws and regulations regarding obtaining and maintaining a motorcycle license in the state.

Motorcycle License Regulations in Vermont
  • Motorcycle License Laws in VT
    • Any applicant for a permit or an operator's license valid for operating a motorcycle, except a renewal applicant or an applicant who surrenders a valid motorcycle license issued by another state, shall successfully complete the rider training course or the department's motorcycle examination.
    • The Vermont Rider Education Program was established in 1990 to offer motorcycle rider training to anyone who wishes to enjoy the sport of motorcycling. The Program offers instructional courses to make your motorcycling safer and more enjoyable.

Motorcycle Equipment Laws in Vermont [4]

Various regulations and laws in Vermont regarding riders and passengers of motorcycles, as well as the equipment used on bikes.

  • Motorcycle Equipment Laws in VT
    • No person may operate or ride upon a motorcycle upon a highway unless he or she wears upon his head protective headgear reflectorized in part and of a type that conforms to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards. The headgear shall be equipped with either a neck or chin strap.
    • The operator must also wear eye protection, if the vehicle is not equipped with a windshield.
    • Any motorcycle or motor-driven cycle carrying a passenger, other than in a sidecar or enclosed cab, must be equipped with footrests for such passenger.
    • No person may operate any motorcycle or motor-driven cycle with handlebars more than 15 inches in height above that portion of the seat occupied by the operator.
    • All motorcycles and motor-driven cycle must be equipped with at least 1 headlight, taillight, brake light, and license plate lamp.

Rider & Driver Facts in Vermont

Rider & Driver Facts in Vermont

Vermont Motorcycle Registrations

  • Registered Riders in VT [1]
    • In 2012, Vermont totaled 30,691 motorcycles registrations.
    • This number ranks 49th in the United States by state (including Washington, D.C.).
    • Note: VT ranked 50th in the nation in total auto registrations (all vehicle types) in 2011.

Vermont Highway Facts

  • Speed Limits in VT [3]
    • Rural interstates: 65 mph
    • Urban interstates: 55 mph
    • Other roads: 50 mph
  • Consumption of Motor Fuel in VT [5]
    • Vermont ranked 50th in the U.S. in 2011 in total motor fuel consumption.

Vermont Accident Reporting Regulations

  • Accident Reporting in VT [4]
    • Crashes are required to be reported in case of death, injury, or when property damage is in excess of $3000.
    • The deadline to file a report is 3 days.

Vermont Demographics

Age Breakdown in Vermont

Approximately 79% residents in VT are 20 and older, while 17% are between ages 5 and 19, and 4% are under the age of 5. [6]


Household Income: Vermont vs. U.S.

The median household income in the state of Vermont is $54,651, which is about 6 percent less than the median income for the United States overall of $58,283. [6]


Income Breakdown in Vermont

About 13% of households in VT have incomes below the poverty level. Below is the complete income breakdown for the state. [6]


Additional information about Vermont

About Vermont

Vermont as a whole has an approximate population of 625,741, which ranks 49th in the nation. [6]

VT Motorcycle Insurance

VT Motorcycle Insurance

To learn more about Motorcycle Insurance in Vermont, or for additional resources related to Vermont Motorcycle Insurance, visit the Vermont Department of Insurance.

Did you know?

Currently, there is no motorcycle helmet use law in two states (Illinois and Iowa).

Vermont Cities

References

1. ^ Federal Highway Administration

2. ^ Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA)

3. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)

4. ^ AAA Digest of Motor Laws and/or Vermont DOT

5. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation

6. ^ United States Census Bureau (2010)