Motorcycle Insurance Providers in Utah
UT Motorcycle Insurance in Utah
Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Requirements in Utah
- Minimum Liability Limits in UT: 25/65/15 
- 25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
- 65 Required coverage up to $65,000 for all persons injured in an accident
- 15 Required coverage up to $15,000 for property damage in an accident
- Note: Instead of policy limits, policyholders can satisfy the requirement with a combined single limit policy.
- Insurer Verification of Insurance in UT 
- Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
Utah Motorcycle Insurance Liability Requirements
Mandatory motorcycle insurance coverage for riders in the state of Utah.
- Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in UT 
- Bodily injury liability coverage
- Property damage liability coverage
- Personal injury protection coverage
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Utah
- Motorcycle helmets required for 17 and younger. 
Motorcycle Insurance Laws & Regulations in Utah
Motorcycle License Regulations in Utah 
Detailed information about Utah laws and regulations regarding obtaining and maintaining a motorcycle license in the state.
- Motorcycle License Laws in UT
- A person who has been issued a motorcycle learner's permit may drive a motorcycle only during daylight hours and only without passengers.
- A motorcycle endorsement is required on all classes of license or a motorcycle-only license is required. An endorsement is valid for 5 years and expires on licensee's birthday in the 5th year.
Motorcycle Equipment Laws in Utah 
Various regulations and laws in Utah regarding riders and passengers of motorcycles, as well as the equipment used on bikes.
- Motorcycle Equipment Laws in UT
- A person under the age of 18 may not operate or ride, unless within an enclosed cab, a motorcycle upon a highway unless that person is wearing protective headgear.
- Eye protection is not required for riders in Utah.
- Motorcycles shall be equipped with footrests for each passenger and no person shall operate any motorcycle with handlebars above shoulder height.
- Every motorcycle shall be equipped with 1 headlamp and 1 tail-lamp - either a tail lamp or a separate lamp shall be so constructed and placed as to illuminate with a white light the rear registration plate.
- Every motorcycle shall be equipped with 1 red reflector on the rear, 1 stop lamp, a braking system, a horn or warning device, and a mirror.
Rider & Driver Facts in Utah
Utah Motorcycle Registrations
- Registered Riders in UT 
- In 2012, Utah totaled 62,819 motorcycles registrations.
- This number ranks 39th in the United States by state (including Washington, D.C.).
- Note: UT ranked 36th in the nation in total auto registrations (all vehicle types) in 2011.
Utah Highway Facts
- Speed Limits in UT 
- Rural interstates: 75 mph (Specified segments of road may have posted limits that exceed 75 mph)
- Urban interstates: 65 mph
- Other roads: 65 mph
- Consumption of Motor Fuel in UT 
- Utah ranked 34th in the U.S. in 2011 in total motor fuel consumption.
Utah Accident Reporting Regulations
- Accident Reporting in UT 
- Crashes are required to be reported in case of death, injury, or when property damage is in excess of $1,000.
- The deadline to file a report is 10 days.
Age Breakdown in Utah
Approximately 66% residents in UT are 20 and older, while 27% are between ages 5 and 19, and 8% are under the age of 5. 
Household Income: Utah vs. U.S.
The median household income in the state of Utah is $61,434, which is about 5 percent more than the median income for the United States overall of $58,283. 
Income Breakdown in Utah
About 13% of households in UT have incomes below the poverty level. Below is the complete income breakdown for the state. 
Additional information about Utah
Utah as a whole has an approximate population of 2,763,885, which ranks 34th in the nation. 
UT Motorcycle Insurance
To learn more about Motorcycle Insurance in Utah, or for additional resources related to Utah Motorcycle Insurance, visit the Utah Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
Currently, laws requiring only some motorcyclists to wear a helmet are in place in 28 states.
1. ^ Federal Highway Administration
2. ^ Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA)
3. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
4. ^ AAA Digest of Motor Laws and/or Utah DOT
5. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
6. ^ United States Census Bureau (2010)