Motorcycle Insurance LocalMotorcycle Insurance Local
Comprehensive Local Motorcycle Insurance Guide

South Carolina Motorcycle Insurance

Motorcycle Registrations in SC

^ There are 112,239 registered motorcycles in South Carolina, the 27th highest number in the nation. [1]

Motorcycle Insurance in SC by City

Select a city for local information:

Go

Compare Motorcycle Insurance in SC

^ Click here to compare South Carolina Motorcycle Insurance options. Get instant quotes in just minutes.

Motorcycle Insurance Providers in South Carolina

SC Motorcycle Insurance

SC Motorcycle Insurance in South Carolina

Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Requirements in South Carolina


  • Minimum Liability Limits in SC: 25/50/25 [2]
    • 25  Required coverage up to $25,000 for one individual injured in an accident
    • 50  Required coverage up to $50,000 for all persons injured in an accident
    • 25  Required coverage up to $25,000 for property damage in an accident

  • Insurer Verification of Insurance in SC [2]
    • Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal.
    • Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.

South Carolina Motorcycle Insurance Liability Requirements

Required Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in South Carolina

Mandatory motorcycle insurance coverage for riders in the state of South Carolina.

  • Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in SC [2]
    • Bodily injury liability coverage
    • Property damage liability coverage
    • Uninsured motorist coverage

Motorcycle Helmet Laws in South Carolina

    • Motorcycle helmets required for 20 and younger. [3]

Motorcycle Insurance Laws & Regulations in South Carolina

Motorcycle License Regulations in South Carolina [4]

Detailed information about South Carolina laws and regulations regarding obtaining and maintaining a motorcycle license in the state.

Motorcycle License Regulations in South Carolina
  • Motorcycle License Laws in SC
    • A motorcycle vehicle examination will be provided where the knowledge and skills examination for a commercial driver's license is offered.
    • The Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) offers a safety course for motorcycle riders throughout South Carolina.

Motorcycle Equipment Laws in South Carolina [4]

Various regulations and laws in South Carolina regarding riders and passengers of motorcycles, as well as the equipment used on bikes.

  • Motorcycle Equipment Laws in SC
    • It is illegal for any person under the age of 21 to operate or ride on a motorcycle or a moped unless he or she wears a protective helmet approved by the Department. Such a helmet must be equipped with either a neck or chin strap and be reflectorized on both sides.
    • It is illegal for any person under the age of 21 to operate a moped or a motorcycle unless he or she wears goggles or a face shield of a type approved by the Department.
    • Any motorcycle carrying a passenger, other than in a sidecar or enclosed cab, must be equipped with footrests for that passenger.
    • Every motorcycle and every moped must be equipped with at least 1 and not more than 2 headlamps. Every motorcycle and every moped must have at least 1 rear reflector.
    • Any person who operates a motorcycle or moped must have the headlights on at all times.

Rider & Driver Facts in South Carolina

Rider & Driver Facts in South Carolina

South Carolina Motorcycle Registrations

  • Registered Riders in SC [1]
    • In 2012, South Carolina totaled 112,239 motorcycles registrations.
    • This number ranks 27th in the United States by state (including Washington, D.C.).
    • Note: SC ranked 25th in the nation in total auto registrations (all vehicle types) in 2011.

South Carolina Highway Facts

  • Speed Limits in SC [3]
    • Rural interstates: 70 mph
    • Urban interstates: 70 mph
    • Other roads: 55 mph
  • Consumption of Motor Fuel in SC [5]
    • South Carolina ranked 18th in the U.S. in 2011 in total motor fuel consumption.

South Carolina Accident Reporting Regulations

  • Accident Reporting in SC [4]
    • Crashes are required to be reported in case of death, injury, or when property damage is in excess of $1,000.
    • The deadline to report a crash is 15 days.

South Carolina Demographics

Age Breakdown in South Carolina

Approximately 75% residents in SC are 20 and older, while 20% are between ages 5 and 19, and 5% are under the age of 5. [6]


Household Income: South Carolina vs. U.S.

The median household income in the state of South Carolina is $49,077, which is about 16 percent less than the median income for the United States overall of $58,283. [6]


Income Breakdown in South Carolina

About 18% of households in SC have incomes below the poverty level. Below is the complete income breakdown for the state. [6]


Additional information about South Carolina

About South Carolina

South Carolina as a whole has an approximate population of 4,625,364, which ranks 24th in the nation. [6]

SC Motorcycle Insurance

SC Motorcycle Insurance

To learn more about Motorcycle Insurance in South Carolina, or for additional resources related to South Carolina Motorcycle Insurance, visit the South Carolina Department of Insurance.

Did you know?

The type, style and age of the motorcycle you ride can affect how much you pay in motorcycle insurance premiums.

South Carolina Cities

References

1. ^ Federal Highway Administration

2. ^ Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA)

3. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)

4. ^ AAA Digest of Motor Laws and/or South Carolina DOT

5. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation

6. ^ United States Census Bureau (2010)