Motorcycle Insurance Providers in North Carolina
NC Motorcycle Insurance in North Carolina
Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Requirements in North Carolina
- Minimum Liability Limits in NC: 30/60/25 
- 30 Required coverage up to $30,000 for one individual injured in an accident
- 60 Required coverage up to $60,000 for all persons injured in an accident
- 25 Required coverage up to $25,000 for property damage in an accident
- Insurer Verification of Insurance in NC 
- Insurer must notify Department of Motor Vehicles or other state agency of cancellation or nonrenewal.
- Insurers must submit entire list of insurance in effect, which may be compared with registrations at a state agency. Also known as a computer data law.
North Carolina Motorcycle Insurance Liability Requirements
Mandatory motorcycle insurance coverage for riders in the state of North Carolina.
- Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in NC 
- Bodily injury liability coverage
- Property damage liability coverage
- Uninsured motorist coverage
- Underinsured motorist coverage
- Note: Underinsured motorist coverage is mandatory in policies with uninsured motorist limits exceeding 30/60.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in North Carolina
- Motorcycle helmets required for all riders. 
Motorcycle Insurance Laws & Regulations in North Carolina
Motorcycle License Regulations in North Carolina 
Detailed information about North Carolina laws and regulations regarding obtaining and maintaining a motorcycle license in the state.
- Motorcycle License Laws in NC
- To drive a motorcycle, a person shall have a full provisional license with a motorcycle learner's permit, a regular driver's license with a motorcycle learner's permit, a full provisional license with a motorcycle endorsement, or a regular driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement.
- To obtain a motorcycle endorsement, an applicant must pass a knowledge test concerning motorcycles, pay the fee, and either pass a road test or provide proof of successful completion of the North Carolina motorcycle safety education program basic rider course or experienced rider course, or any other approved course for this purpose.
- An applicant must pass a vision test, road sign test, and written test to obtain a motorcycle learner's permit. A motorcycle learner's permit is valid for 12 months after it is issued, and may be renewed for one additional 6-month period.
- Motorcycle Learner's Permit: A person who is 16 or 17 years old and has a full provisional license, or a person who is at least 18 years old and has a valid license, is eligible for a motorcycle learner's permit.
Motorcycle Equipment Laws in North Carolina 
Various regulations and laws in North Carolina regarding riders and passengers of motorcycles, as well as the equipment used on bikes.
- Motorcycle Equipment Laws in NC
- The operator and all passengers of a motorcycle or moped must wear a protective helmet.
- Eye protection is not required for riders in North Carolina.
- Passenger footrest required if carrying a passenger.
- Every motorcycle and motor-driven cycle shall be equipped with either 1 or 2 headlamps that shall be lighted at all times when the motorcycle is in operation. Lights must be on at all times.
- Every motorcycle shall be equipped with a rearview mirror that provides a clear, undistorted, and unobstructed view of at least 200 feet to the rear.
Rider & Driver Facts in North Carolina
North Carolina Motorcycle Registrations
- Registered Riders in NC 
- In 2012, North Carolina totaled 199,205 motorcycles registrations.
- This number ranks 16th in the United States by state (including Washington, D.C.).
- Note: NC ranked 12th in the nation in total auto registrations (all vehicle types) in 2011.
North Carolina Highway Facts
- Speed Limits in NC 
- Rural interstates: 70 mph
- Urban interstates: 70 mph
- Other roads: 55 mph
- Consumption of Motor Fuel in NC 
- North Carolina ranked 9th in the U.S. in 2011 in total motor fuel consumption.
North Carolina Accident Reporting Regulations
- Accident Reporting in NC 
- Crashes are required to be immediately reported in cases of death or injury.
- Crashes are required to be immediately reported when property damage exceeds $1,000.
North Carolina Demographics
Age Breakdown in North Carolina
Approximately 74% residents in NC are 20 and older, while 20% are between ages 5 and 19, and 5% are under the age of 5. 
Household Income: North Carolina vs. U.S.
The median household income in the state of North Carolina is $51,083, which is about 12 percent less than the median income for the United States overall of $58,283. 
Income Breakdown in North Carolina
About 17% of households in NC have incomes below the poverty level. Below is the complete income breakdown for the state. 
Additional information about North Carolina
About North Carolina
North Carolina as a whole has an approximate population of 9,535,483, which ranks 8th in the nation. 
NC Motorcycle Insurance
To learn more about Motorcycle Insurance in North Carolina, or for additional resources related to North Carolina Motorcycle Insurance, visit the North Carolina Department of Insurance.
Did you know?
The number of miles you typically ride per a year and where you store your bike can directly affect your motorcycle insurance rates.
1. ^ Federal Highway Administration
2. ^ Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCIAA)
3. ^ Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
4. ^ AAA Digest of Motor Laws and/or North Carolina DOT
5. ^ U.S. Department of Transportation
6. ^ United States Census Bureau (2010)